What’s in Season Now – Spring

The more I think about the future of food and the environment, the more conscious I am about what I eat and the impact I am having on the planet.

One of the simplest solutions to this problem is eating what is in season. A few months ago I got a supermarket coupon for watermelon. In January. In England. That was a huge eye opener. For me, watermelon conjures up images of sunny Sunday afternoons sitting next to the swimming pool, not curling up on the couch on a rainy winter’s day. As a society we are spoilt. We really are. We can’t even wait for summer to have watermelon. We have to have it in the middle of winter. If we didn’t, there wouldn’t be greenhouses in the middle of Spain trying to grow things out of their natural habitat, and the supermarket wouldn’t be trying to flog it to us. Many people think there’s nothing they can do, that it’s just a drop in the ocean. But if one by one we all start putting our foot down, the food industry will have to listen to us. After all, we are the ones who finance their lavish lifestyles.

Spring is a time for new beginnings with amazing produce and the prospect of summer just around the corner is enough to put a smile on my face. This is what I will be eating until I can get my hands on some summer fruit.

Fruit:

Apricot

Elderflowers

Gooseberries

Kiwi

Mangos

Passion Fruit

Rhubarb

Vegetables:

Artichokes

Asparagus

Broad Beans

Cauliflower

Celery

Chicory

Cucumber

Leeks

Jersey Royals

Morels

Peas

Purple Sprouting Broccoli

Radishes

Rocket

Salad Leaves

Samphire

Spinach

Spring Cabbage

Spring Greens

Spring Onions

Watercress

 Meat, Game, Fish & Seafood:

Cockles

Cod

Crab

Lamb

Langoustine

Lobster

Mackrel

Oysters

Plaice

Prawns

Salmon

Sea Trout

Shrimp

Tuna

 

Leave a comment